Benito Juárez dies in office. Sebastián Lerdo de Tejada, head of the Supreme Court, completes term.
Porfirio Díaz rebels against the reelection of President Sebastián Lerdo de Tejada, issues a plan of “effective suffrage and no reelection,” and seizes the presidency.
Except for the period of Manuel González’s presidency (1880-1884), Porfirio Díaz rules Mexico as president, but effectively as dictator.